About Me

Hello and welcome to my study abroad blog!

My name is Anna Hawkshead and I’m heading abroad! Get it hawksHEADINGabroad? Just pretend you laughed with me.

I am a junior in Communications and International Studies at Iowa State University. I will be studying abroad at Lorenzo de’ Medici in Florence, Italy in the spring of 2016. I chose Italy because I wanted a central location that would allow me the spontaneity to travel as much as possible. I’ve always known that studying abroad was something I wanted to do. In high school I used to spend hours scrolling through Pinterest and looking at pictures from different countries or searching study abroad programs through various colleges. I got a little obsessed.

Among the many reasons I am excited to study abroad next semester, my top four are;

  1. Experience a culture completely different than my own
  2. Pasta, pizza, and bread. Do I need to say more?
  3. Traveling to other countries
  4. Visiting historical sites

I want to be a Study Abroad Social Media Intern so I can share my experiences with others who are considering studying abroad. Studying abroad is a great opportunity to push yourself outside of your comfort zone and see things you might not get the chance to later in life. I already intended to create a travel blog to keep in touch with my friends and family while I’m away but hope this blog will be able to reach more than just people I currently know. My goal of this blog is to help others find their passion for travel and realize studying abroad is something everyone can do! I think I would be a great candidate for this position because meeting new people and interacting with those of different cultures is something I hope to find a career in after graduation. This position would be an excellent way for me to begin my career.

Leave a Reply

