Ciao!

After 12.5 hours of traveling, I finally made it to Florence! I successfully said goodbye to my family without shedding more than two tears. I’ve been waiting for this day for so long that it didn’t feel real saying goodbye. Even as I sit in my hotel room (I came a day early so I can’t check in with my school yet), it doesn’t feel real.

IMG_8568
Don’t let my brothers face fool you, he was sad to see me go. (Not pictured: my older sister)

I left Minneapolis at 5:20 pm and flew directly to Paris. I’ve never flown internationally and was pleasantly surprised at the hospitality of my airline. They provided us with two snacks, two meals, and constantly brought around beverages. The tv screens attached to the back of the seat in front of you had recent movies and tv shows to watch as well. My flight was a little over 8 hours and landed at 8:15 am their time. It went pretty fast until the last hour and a half when I was bored and starting to feel stiff. I finally landed in Paris and had absolutely no idea what to do or where to go. I overhead the person behind me mention the word “Florence” so I stalked him around the Paris airport hoping he was going to Florence too. Turns out he was! The airport was huge and had multiple check points to go through. I think after awhile he was getting a little weirded out with how closely I was following him. I had an hour and a half layover in Paris then boarded my flight to Florence. It was only an hour and 25 minute flight but it felt like forever.

I finally landed in Florence and got off the plane to head to baggage claim. For everyone preparing for the big snow storm that’s about to hit the Midwest, it’s 60 degrees here 😉 I got a taxi and thought my life was going to end. Italian’s drive was than both my sisters combined, which is really saying something. They drive so close to each other and share the same lanes as people on mopeds. I had to look at the ground because my driver was making me nervous. I’ve yet to sleep since 3 am central time and somehow am still not tired. I’m off to do some exploring and eating. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

